Run, cycle and swim North Wales: marathons, half-marathons, triathlons and races in 2019

Do you love running, cycling or swimming? Have a competitive streak in you? Come to North Wales to satisfy your urge to race!

While there are organised race events throughout the UK, few can match the natural beauty that North Wales offers. You’ll be spurred on by the scenery as well as the enthusiastic crowds that gather to watch.

Read on for a comprehensive round-up of organised marathons, half-marathons, duathlons and triathlons taking place in north west Wales throughout 2019.

North Wales race calendar 2019

Swimmers traverse Llyn Padarn during the Slateman Triathlon, 2014.

Run Wales Events: Marathons, half-marathons and 10k

Run Wales hold events around the coasts and mountains of Snowdonia all year round. None of these runs are more than one hour’s drive from Royal Victoria Hotel:

Llandudno Trail Half-Marathon (based on the Great Orme): Sunday 7 April

Big Rock 10k, Penmaenmawr, Sunday 5 May

Snowdonia Half-Marathon, Llanrwst, Sunday 19 May

North Wales Half-Marathon, Conwy, Sunday 4 August

Bangor 10k and Half-Marathon, Sunday 6 October

Conwy Half Marathon, Sunday 17 November

Always Aim High: marathons, half-marathons, duathlons and triathlons

Always Aim High hold running events on Anglesey and in Conwy. In July, the Snowdonia Trail Marathon is actually several events in one, a 10k, half- full- and ultra-marathon event, all based on our doorstep in Llanberis. The full marathon circumnavigates Snowdon before climbing it, while the ultra includes a total 7,000ft ascent!

Anglesey Half-Marathon, Sunday 3 March

Conwy Marathon, Sunday 31 March (NEW)

Anglesey Trail Half-Marathon, Sunday 2 June (NEW)

Snowdonia Trail Marathon, Sunday 14 July,

Triathlon and duathlon events start in Harlech, Capel Curig, Newborough on Anglesey and right here in Llanberis.

Harlech Duathlon and Triathlon, Sunday 14 April

Slateman Triathlon and Duathlon, Llanberis, Saturday 18 and Sunday 19 May

Snowman Triathlon and Duathlon, Capel Curig, Saturday 27 and Sunday 28 July

Sandman Triathlon and Duathlon, Newborough, Anglesey, Saturday 14 and Sunday 15 September,

The Snowman Swim is a swim-only event based from Plas y Brenin outdoor centre near Capel Curig, featuring a mile and a half-mile swim in Llyn Mymbyr on Saturday 27 July.

Finally, Always Aim High runs the Tour de Mon cycling event, which includes several different race lengths and makes great use of the island’s relatively flat and quiet roads. Sunday 18 August.

The Snowdonia Marathon on Saturday 26 October is one of the most famous races in the UK, and has twice been voted the best marathon on these islands. 2019 places are already full. That doesn’t mean that you can’t come and cheer on the athletes as they run up Llanberis Pass and around Snowdon, with the start/finish in Llanberis just yards from the hotel.

Other races taking place in 2019

Trail Events Snowdon Trail Runs includes a Snowdon 12k, half, full and ultra marathons, Saturday 28 September.

Cybi Coastal Marathon follows a fabulous coastal route around Holy Island off Anglesey, Saturday 3 August.

Ring O Fire is an Ultra Marathon run around Anglesey over two days, Saturday 30 August and Sunday 1 September.

Not strictly running, cycling or swimming, Wales Rally GB features the 12th round of the FIA World Rally Championship, from 3 – 6 October 2019. The exact route has yet to be announced.

The Dragon Duathlon is an astonishing race that runs from Beaumaris on Anglesey to Swansea in the south west of Wales. It takes place on Saturday 8 June and includes Llanberis to Snowdon summit and down to Rhyd Ddu.

Raise money for charity by joining the JRDF Climb 1 for Type 1 (Diabetes), which follows the Llanberis Path to Snowdon summit, Saturday 22 June.

Join the Snowdon Summer Solstice Sunrise Walk on Saturday 22nd June, run by SVL Adventures.

Trail Betws boasts several race lengths including a 10k, 5k and half-marathon that follow trails into Gwydir Forest, Saturday 9 November with start and finish in Betws-y-Coed.

Quest Wales Triathlon blends running, cycling and kayaking over three different routes, based from Betws-y-Coed. Saturday 8 June.

Moel Siabod Fell Race is a popular race up this great mountain. The 2019 event takes place on Saturday 6 July.

If we’ve inspired you to lace up your trainers or you’re already well into training but haven’t organised somewhere to stay, check out our hotel as a great base for your event. Especially with the events taking place in and around Llanberis, the hotel books up fast but that makes for a great buzz on race weekend and, of course, lots of like-minded people to swap banter with in the evening! To book your room, click here.

Images courtesy: swimmers on Llyn Padarn during the Slateman Triathlon, by Hefin Owen, 2014 via Flickr.